• En | Fr
  • Welcome
  • About
  • Awards
  • Apply
  • News
  • Support Us
  • Contact Us

Haley Robinson

Location: LaRonge, SK

Award: Young Canadians


Year: 2007


Sanitary Sunshine: Phase Two

News Release

Saskatchewan student's solar water-pasteurizer wins Manning Innovation Award at Canada-Wide Science Fair

TRURO, NS — (May 22, 2007) Haley Robinson, a Grade 11 student from La Ronge, Saskatchewan, has won a $4000 Manning Young Canadian Innovation Award for her Canada-Wide Science Fair project on solar water-pasteurization. For her project "Sanitary Sunshine Phase Two," Robinson designed, built and tested three pasteurizers that heat and decontaminate water with solar energy.

Solar water-pasteurization could be of great value to the 1.1 billion people worldwide who lack safe drinking water. Robinson was able to create a particularly efficient pasteurizer using simple, no-cost materials, such as plastic bags and a black painted bottle.

Her work is timely, 2005-2015 being the United Nations' International Decade for Action, "Water For Life." Among other awards, her project was recognized with the Canadian Commission for UNESCO - Science for Peace and Development Travel Award and $1000 CSSE Engineering Innovation Award.

Robinson was among the approximately 25,000 young Canadians in Grades 7 though 12 who earlier this year competed in regional science fairs across the country. Of these students, 459 Finalists gathered at the 2007 Canada-Wide Science Fair, held in the Colchester County of Nova Scotia from May 12-20th. The annual fair is the showcase event of Youth Science Foundation Canada.

The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation introduced the Young Canadian Program in 1992 to recognize innovative Canada-Wide Science Fair projects. Each year a judging team selects eight winning projects for the $500 Manning Innovation Achievement Awards, which are presented at the science fair awards ceremony. Out of these projects, another four are selected for the $4000 Manning Young Canadian Innovation Awards. The top four award winners also receive invitations to the Foundation's annual awards dinner and ceremony.

Bruce Fenwick
Executive Director, Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation
Phone: 403-645-8277
Email: bruce.fenwick@encana.com

Lori Murray
Youth Science Foundation Canada
Phone: (Toll free) 866-341-0040 ext. 3
Email: communications@ysf-fsj.ca