• En | Fr
  • Welcome
  • About
  • Awards
  • Apply
  • News
  • Support Us
  • Contact Us

Ryan Peng

Location: Saskatoon, SK

Award: Young Canadians


Year: 2009


High Speed Exposure with Compact Digital Cameras

News Release

Saskatoon's Bright Light Wows National Science Fair with Camera Flash Invention
Novel Camera Flash Technique Garners Young Engineer Manning Young Canadian Innovation Award

WINNIPEG, MB - (May 15, 2009) Saskatoon's Ryan Peng has invented a technique that expands the possibilities for flash photography using compact digital cameras. For his engineering project at the 2009 Canada-Wide Science Fair, the Grade 11 student has won $4500 from the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation and offers of entrance scholarships from three universities.

Compact digital cameras are convenient, but the quality of flash photography is limited by the speed of the flash. To snap a shot of a fast-moving subject, for example, requires a quick, bright flash. Peng used his math and engineering skills to invent a method to increase shutter speed and flash speed when using an externally mounted flash. Achieving this goal meant measuring the light intensity of a camera flash at split second intervals with a light meter and by photographing the flashes. He then created a computer program to calculate the appropriate use of the flash at high shutter speeds, taking into account factors such as light intensity and distance of the flash from the subject.

Peng was among 489 finalists competing at the national fair, held at the University of Manitoba, in Winnipeg, May 9th to 17th. During the week, students from across Canada have competed for nearly $1 million in scholarships and grants.

The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation introduced the Young Canadian Program in 1992 to recognize Canada's innovative youth. Each year a judging team selects eight winning projects at the Canada-Wide Science Fair (CWSF) for a $500 Manning Innovation Achievement Award presented at the CWSF; four of these are selected for a $4000 Manning Young Canadian Innovation Award. The Young Canadian Innovation Awards are sponsored by Petro-Canada (2), the Jim McEwen Family and the Dave Mitchell Family, and are presented at the Foundation's Annual Awards Gala being held this year in Vancouver on September 18th.

Visit www.manningawards.ca for more information and winner videos.

Bruce Fenwick, Executive Director, Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation, Phone: 403-645-8277 Email: bruce.fenwick@encana.com

Lori Murray, Youth Science Foundation Canada, Phone: (Toll free) 866-341-0040 ext. 3 Email: communications@ysf-fsj.ca