manning innovation awards logo

Bookmark and Share

Are you a Canadian Innovator?

Should I Apply?

Connect With Us

The Awards

The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation has been recognizing and encouraging innovation in Canada since 1982. By means of a nomination, Canadians who have demonstrated recent innovative talent in developing and successfully marketing a new concept, process or procedure, may be eligible for one of these awards:

  • Principal Award ($100,000)
  • David E. Mitchell Award of Distinction ($25,000)
  • Innovation Awards (2 at $10,000)*

*reserved for those without the benefit of research facilities or advanced education in the field of their innovation.

The Awards are presented at our Annual National Awards Gala. The Young Canadian Program, introduced in 1992, recognizes eight innovative projects selected by a team of judges at the annual Canada-Wide Science Fair. Each project receives $500, which is presented at the Science Fair award ceremonies. A further judging process then selects four projects from the eight to receive $4,000 Manning Young Canadian Innovation Awards which are presented at our Annual National Awards Gala.

2014 Awards Information

This year's Awards are October 22nd at the Westin Hotel Ottawa, 11 Colonel By Dr.

Reception: 6:00-6:45 p.m., Confederation Foyer Level 4

Awards Gala 7:00-9:15 p.m., Confederation Ballroom, Level 4

Our Emcee is Astronaut Julie Payette.

Required attire: Business

Please join us for our Sympsium featuring some of our award winners exploring the topic of commercialization and innovation on Thursday October 23, 9-noon at the University of Ottawa, Room 12102 in the Desmarais Building, located at 55 Laurier East.